Wild June Damsels


Days 10 and 11 of #30dayswild  saw me branch out from the usual birding fare and try my hand at some more exotic bird food identification. I was checking up on one of my new WEBS study areas which whilst painfully thin on birds during the summer months has plenty to keep a budding naturalist busy. The River Yare runs through the site and its flood plain brings in large number of ducks in the winter. There are numerous creeks and ditches that cover the area such as that below.

DSC_0015

Ditches full of water insects blossom and if you look closely a mallard one of very few birds seen.

In the winter this area has seen rarities such as American wigeon but for me today a couple of mallard a heard only Moorhen and one of a pair of local little egrets were the highlights from an avian perspective. The little egret was very mobile so here is one by someone else.

26557983314_770127ef0b_o

Bickering Little egrets Credit: Alan Hinchliffe via Compfight cc

Whilst the bird life was a little thin on the ground I was distracted by the flurry of gossamer wings all around, and thought the local damselflies were captivating subjects to try my photographic skills out on with a view to later identifying.

Banded Demoiselle

I am fairly confident that the first two shots are banded demoiselles but stand to be corrected by those who know their odonata.

banded demoiselle (2)

One more of the banded demoiselle showing of his fangs which highlight the carnivorous nature of this delicate beauty.

Beautifil Demoiselle

This next one was a little more tricky and a female which is a Banded demoiselle. I initially thought of beautiful demoiselle but this species does not occur locally.

There are plenty of great sites for sorting out your ID of damselflies and dragonflies but the one I used was the British Dragonfly society site available (Here)

Common Blue Damsel Fly

This next one was a bit trickier due to the range of similar creatures but I opted for the common blue damselfly only to be subsequently corrected thanks to James E. it is actually a very similar Azure Damselfly.

Large red Damselfly

This next one beat me on focus but I think not in terms of ID as it fits the name a large red damselfly. 

So having logged all my live bird food I leave you with my favourite wild moment of the last couple of days a sunbaked songster singing his heart out on a graveyard wall.

DSC_0002

Robin looking slightly worn no doubt due to recent parental obligations.

6 thoughts on “Wild June Damsels

  1. I agree with Banded Demoisells for the first ones, the males are obvious but the females must be problematic in areas where both occur. Luckily as David says, we only get Banded Demoiselles here. The blue one is Azure Damselfly, if you look at the marking at the top of the abdomen on yours it is a ‘u’ shape, in Common Blue that marking would be a ‘ball on a stick’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

