More year ticks


As January speeds by it marks the anniversary of my first post and the enjoyment of watching the local natural world is compounded by  comparing and developing an understanding  of how the seasons and weather affect and predict the birds and other creatures living within and alongside the village. My increased understanding of the effects of the weather have also resulted in me remembering my wellies, fortunate as all local paths are muddy and some close to flooded.

The first real patch bash was round the woods of the parish pit and great Melton Reservoir and early highlights included a pair of Egyptian geese and a pair of grey heron alongside the swollen streams. As I watched the noisy geese I heard the call of a buzzard and watched a pair calling and displaying over the tree tops.

DSC_0258 Egyptian Goose colourful and distracting but only a pair so far on the patch

The buzzards were not the last new birds of prey, as I watched the swollen rivers of the reservoir now brown with silt stirred up by the high waters following endless rain I noticed a hovering kestrel scanning the waters edge. I moved on towards Great Melton Church and was treated to a flypast male sparrowhawk. The sparrow hawk flew low across the adjacent field and across to a hedgerow were almost magically he appeared to double speed and flip over the hedge hoping to catch out some prey.

My next patch walks were round Hethersett Hall hoping for some more winter wildfowl but moorhen and mallard were the usual birds present as I braved the now chill winds of the last few days. I was eventually treated to another sighting of a single little grebe on the hall lake which is the third sighting this month and it will be interesting to see if it stays and attracts a mate. The otherworldly call of this diminutive bird on a spring misty lake surrounded by trees would be a particular pleasure. If you haven’t experienced the call it can be found and listened to (here). 

2277680568_4488fb2a37_o

Little Grebe Credit: graspnext via Compfight cc

Not to be outdone on calls there were constant  display flights round the lake and hall grounds by green woodpecker and carrion crow. My favourite songster of the day was the mistle thrush possibly a winter visitor almost melancholy when compared to the songthrush some of which have occasionally been singing in the village. The Mistle thrush strikes me as a glass half empty bird compared with the half full songthrush. Help in telling these two apart is availabe below on the ID video brought to you byt the BTO and partners

5 thoughts on “More year ticks

  1. Happy First Blogging anniversary! Thanks for sharing your British birds, I loved birding over there last year, and it is good to see more of the ones we did not see. I enjoy reading your stories on your adventures birding. Have a great new birding year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For the record I tend to spend very short spells wrapped up warm out in the cold and wind but there is usually something special. I also really enjoy the birdlife and blogs from all round the world. Different birds same pleasure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

